The Cascade Cycling Classic went a little different than I expected. It started out fast covering 83 miles in 2hours 48 minutes (28.5mph) with two climbs. My right quad cramped up the final climb which put me out of the GC and gave me bad legs for the climb the next day. After taking it easy in the TT it was time to crank it up for the crit. Baz, Ricky, and I surffed the front as curtis was in the break. When the break got caught I had a go at it with a few laps left. When that didn’t work we set Ricky up and he took 3rd. Heading into the 5th stage the legs were coming around and I got in the break. With 20K to go we knew we’d stay out. Brain Jensen did a great job setting me up. A Garmin rider attacked with 4k to go and then I went with 2k to go. I didn’t have much on the break and I was gaining on Blake the Garmin Rider I got caught with 500 meters to go and jumped on. Blake got caught with 250 meters to go. I ended up getting nipped on the line for 2nd and ended up 3rd. The team was excited with two podium finishes in two days. The final day is a difficult race but a good one for us. We missed the break but we knew our best chance was Ricky in the sprint. After our team chased the break and JR let it going into the final climb Ricky and I made it over the final climb with a group of 25. Ricky took an exciting finish on the last day. Although the week started out slow we ended strong. There were a few bad crashes and I praise God for keeping a watch over Ben Brooks who crashed in the first day over a cattle guard. They had to resesitate him on the road and he was in a coma for a while. We were unsure if he’d make it and if he did what type of brain damage he might have. His dad spoke on the last day and things are going well. He’s moving a bit, talking, and remembers things. Praise God!

