After taking nearly a week off the bike I’m back training and preparing for Cascade. It’s been a while since I’ve trained here at home. It feels good to be on the mountain roads above Deer Creek. The legs felt okay after taking some time off but the lungs and heart were working pretty good. I hope to be flying by Cascade so I can stick it to the stacked peleton that will be there. With Astana not getting into the tour Chris Horner and Levi will be there. A lot of the other teams like BMC, Health Net, Toyota and Slipstream have some great riders there as well. I’m excited as it’s going to be one of the most challenging fields this year on one of the toughest courses we’ll face. The race takes place in Bend, OR July 9-13. It’ll be 5 days and 6 stages. We won’t have a full squad there, but we’ll have a strong one. We’ll be looking for Riccardo to win a stage or two and a few of us to finish high in the GC and maybe win a stage as well.

