The Gila Monster Stage is exactly that at the Tour of the Gila. Over 100 miles with non-stop climbing in the last 50 miles. I was sitting in 10th on GC going into the last day and felt relaxed knowing I was going to give 100%. When an attack went over the Cat 2 climb I jumped even though I knew things usually come back together before the Cat 1 climb. Today was different. It was the right combo of riders and we went clear. I was holding on by a thread up the Cat 1 climb before decending and hitting the last Cat 2 and Cat 4 climb. I was good enough to hold onto 5th for the stage and move up to 6th on the GC. A great result and good feeling for myself and the team. The Tour of the Gila has treated me pretty well over the last 2 years even though it’s more of a race for 140-150 pound climbers. Like always it feels good to be home and out of the church gym we were staying at. I’m home for a week and then it’s off to Hood River, OR. Another high altitude stage race for climbers. Should be good.

