Outside the coffee shopThere’s nothing more fun than racing the roads you’ve spent hours training on. This years Tour de Leelanau was much different. Last year had one pro team where this year had at least 4 although only two had full squads due to the Tour of Missouri going on at the same time. This year thing broke up quickly with attacks in the first mile. A got away in a large group over the first climb. The two big teams each had 4 to 5 guys in the break and the other teams had at least one. I was the one on Jittery Joes to make the break. I was excited and helped roll through at the front. I shouldn’t have pulled through though as the two big teams had so many guys. I’m still learning. I ended up winning the first two sprints on the road and then taking 3rd on the other two. This gave me 2nd in the sprint competition. One of my teammates bridged up to our group at one point and it was nice having another guy there. We both were doing work and let a two guys go for a KOM thinking they would come back. They didn’t and we had to chase. We shouldn’t have because we shot ourselves in the foot. Anyway we rolled in to take 14th and 15th. It was a beautiful day with good support from our family and friends. It was also good racing with the Jittery Joes guys and being up in Leland. We rode all week always making a stop at the coffee shop. It looks like my road season is over. Now it’s time for cyclocross and looking for a pro contract for next year.

