Saturdays race in Belgium almost didn’t happen for me because I left my shoes at home. Thankfully I was able to find someone with an extra pair and I changed the cleats and my pedals. I finished screwing in the last pedal a couple of minutes before the start. It was a tough course of a 110 kilometers with a big hill every 7K. I made the selection of 25 riders and almost got dropped a few times up the climb. On the last lap it split on the hill but then came back together on the flat. Coming into the finish there were two small descents followed by small uphills going to the finish. A rider broke and I was able to follow him and then attack him with a kilometer to go. Two more guys came across and sat on me until 200 meters to go. I couldn’t let up as the group was only 10 seconds behind us. I was happy with my first podium finish in Europe. I even got a prize, flowers, and kisses. I’m still waiting for the day I get to spray champagne. Today we race in Germany and then it’s back to Holland for a race on Monday.

